Hello from Hong Kong!

 

Hello from Hong Kong!

How are you all doing on the other side of the world? Everything is going great over here in Hong Kong. It is all really crazy, but I am doing a great job at adjusting and getting used to the big city life:) Everything here is so big. The smallest building I have seen is probably 7 stories high. It is amazing.

My apartment, chapel, and zone are all in different areas, so I get to see a lot of Hong Kong as I am traveling around. It takes about 45 minutes to get from my apartment to my zone, so I get to see a lot of people on the subway. Part of my zone is on a big boardwalk is right on the ocean. It is really amazing.

So my fourth night here, I got to experience my first typhoon! Haha everyone was starting to get freaked out because it was going to be a level 8 (which is pretty bad) we aren’t allowed to leave our apartments if it is a level 8. So we had to move our beds away from windows and make sure everything was secure just in case. It came during the night. It turned out to only be a level 1, and then the rest of the day was just a pretty nice tropical storm. The wind was blowing like crazy though.

Because I share a chapel with the “international” area (the Phillipino) I have been able to go on a couple of splits with those missionaries and be able to teach them. I always think of Emily and how much she is going to love those people. They are all so humble and love talking to us “white boys”.

Haha! So the other day, I went into a “restaraunt” to get some food for lunch. I still am trying to talk to the people the best I can. Sometimes is doesn’t always work out, but I love it and the Chinese people love me trying to talk. The people at this restaurant have started calling me baby face…. It is a great way to start my experience here in Hong Kong. Haha.

Ok, for my crazy food update. I had some cow stomach which was really good. I also had some squid. I can’t really decide if I like squid. At first I liked it, but then one of the sister missionaries kept putting more and more on my plate and making me eat it. So right now, I am still unsure if I like squid. I also had some mango tea, which was so good. If it wasn’t so expensive, I would drink it everyday!

Now time for a funny story! I was on the MTR (subway) and I decided to talk to this grandma. They are always so nice and love talking to the Americans. So I went up and said hello. She looked and my tag, then just started yelling at me. She started coming at me with her cane, and I had to run. It was pretty scary. Ha-ha. I have been a little bit more cautious about talking to grandmas now.

I have also seen so many amazing miracles since I have gotten here; Things that I can’t even explain. My zone is hard. It has been in a dead zone. The members don’t really want to help us, and no one wants to listen to us. But we are working hard and it is really starting to pay off. We are making progress, and hopefully by the end of the month we will have a baptism. It is crazy how the Lord answers prayers and really guides people.

Some good news, I beat an Asian at ping pong…. I was very proud of myself. Haha! So on July 1, it was the anniversary of when Britain gave Hong Kong back to China. So it was a crazy day. There were protests all day and lots of sirens going on, but we are all safe. Then at the end of the day they had fireworks going off over the water. I was able to watch them from the chapel. These fireworks put all other fireworks to shame. There were so many of them. They went on forever and it was like an unlimited grand finale. It was pretty amazing, so I got to have my “4th of July” fireworks. Ha-ha. It wasn’t the same, but it was still good.

Well that is all for now, I don’t know exactly what else to say, it has really just been a week of adjusting. I am loving it. My apartment is small, it is very hot, and it has been raining all day today. But I am loving every minute of it. Elder Lee who is from our stake at home left last week. His parents came to pick him up. His dad had me make a video on his phone and he is going to put it on a disk and give to you guys. So that was kind of fun. I love you all and I hope you are all doing great.

Hope you all have a great week!

Love, Elder Brown

 

 

Leave a Reply

