The Level 10 Typhoon

 

Hello my super amazing friends and family,


This week has been pretty crazy! On monday, we all had to go back to our apartments early because a typhoon was coming. It was so crazy running back to the apartment with car bumpers flying everywhere and rain is pouring so hard. It was kind of scary but also kind of fun. There was even a couple times where the wind was so strong that I had to grab onto a pole to stop myself from being blown over. The typhoon got to a level 10 during the night which is the biggest a typhoon can get. It was pretty crazy. The next morning we weren’t allowed to leave the apartment until the afternoon. When we did go outside, it was crazy. Tons of trees were blown over and there were tin huts that had collapsed and so much garbage and random stuff all over the place. It hasn’t stopped raining since. There have been lots of flood warnings in the Northern part of Hong Kong. None of the missionaries got hurt. There was only one broken window in an apartment. It was a pretty intense monday.


We were going to hike to this beach today as a zone, but because of the heavy rain we had to cancel. It kind of sucks, but now we are having a fun party at a church instead. It was a pretty good week this week. Yesterday in particular we had so many miracles. I love the Hong Kong people. The other day we were passing a fruit stall and the man loved how happy we were so he gave us a bunch of free peaches and apples and other fruit. It was so awesome. Our relationship with the ward is starting to grow, we have started to meet individually with the different families and see if we can improve our relationship with them.


The other day a little chinese boy taught me how to play chinese chess. It is pretty fun. I will have to teach you all when I get back home. I also learned how to play this other chinese card game… It was really weird and I didn’t like it as much, but hey when in Rome… or China! haha


So there are these little alleys here in Hong Kong where you can buy different meat or fruit. They smell awful, because all of the animals are still alive when you order them. They have giant tanks of fish, frogs, snakes, chickens, and giant pieces of meat just hanging around. It is pretty nasty, but way funny. I have taken a picture that I will send home.


So there is a missionary here, that says she know Alex. She went to Springville high school and graduated the same time as Jake. She said that alex played the piano one time while she sang. Her name is Michelle Lier. She is so cool. Just wanted to see if any of you know her. Also Alex, do you know of any way to break the area code on DVDs so if I buy one here in Hong Kong I can make it work in america? just a little question I had.


On that last memory card you sent pack, with the pictures and the video, there were some of my pictures left on there and I don’t know if you already put them onto the computer. Can you let me know if I can delete them or not? Thanks! Also if you have any ideas of how I should get pictures home to you, let me know.


So how was Batman? There have been so many posters and buses that have batman and spiderman all over them? I heard somewhere that they canceled all showings in america. I don’t know if that is true. It is so sad that one man ruins it for so many people.


Jake, how was your roadtrip? sounds like you went with some crazy people. Hope you had a good time. Nathan, how is the “summer bucket list” coming along? I want to see some pictures. How did the golf course one go? haha


I didn’t give a talk last week, I found out it is this week, so I am all prepared, hopefully it goes great! In other wards, they just make the new missionaries get up and bear their testimony, I get a whole talk! haha I am pretty excited. I am not too worried. Our ward is very small so I have talked in chinese in front of more people. The language is coming along. I can understand and say more every day, so that is what matters, continual progression.


We actually have two investigators right now who are fairly close to accepting baptism. One is named Anders. He says he believes everything we have taught him, but he just wants to finish the entire book of mormon before he commits to a baptism date. That is good, but he is reading very slow, so we are helping him come to a decision faster. The other one is named Allesandro. He really likes to talk with the missionaries, and the other day he told us he wants to come to church, so hopefully he will progress pretty fast.


There is also this other investigator. His name is Jackson. Jackson is very special, he was one of the first people that I actually got to teach. He walked into the church with his friend wanting to learn more about our church. He was very prepared and had so many questions. We gave him a book of Mormon and set up a time to meet with him again. The only problem was that his friend doesn’t like our church. So that night his friend called us and said that jackson didn’t want to meet with us again. We called Jackson about a week later, and found out that his friend told him so many lies about our church. We cleared up those lies and fixed the damage done. The really cool thing is, when his friend told him to get rid of all the fliers we gave him, he through all of them away except for the book of Mormon. He said he just had a weird feeling that he needed to keep it. He is in Thailand now for a couple of weeks, so I don’t really know how he is doing, but we told him to read it while he is gone, and hopefully he will want to meet with us when he gets back. So those are our main investigators we are working with right now.


For the man bringing the package, he has to drop it off at the mission office. It is right across the street from the temple. We aren’t allowed to get any letters or packages unless it goes through the mission office first. So they don’t even give us our home address. Sorry.


Well, I love you all so much. I am so glad that you all support me so much. I don’t know what I would do without you. I can literally feel the prayers that you all say for me. It gives me strength to fight another day. The Lord pushes us, but always gives us a boost right when we need it the most. He is always there for us, just a simple prayer away. Just think for a minute. We are all literal children of the most powerful person in the entire universe. We are all children of divine royalty. He asks us to pray to him and give him all of our trial, weaknesses, sins, happiness, joy, and everything else we face to he can help make our load lighter. He is there! He loves each and every one of us and will do anything we need so we don’t fail. We are winning and we will continue to win. We will not lose this fight, if we just keep fighting until the end. Chi sau dou di (endure to the end) That is my challenge for all of you. Always remember your God and what he has given you, what he will give you, and the assurance that you never have to be alone. never give up!


Love, Elder Bubba

 

Leave a Reply

