Knock Knock….Rejected! (And loving it)

Hello my family and friends,

Hopefully everyone is doing great and recovering nice and smoothly. This week has been a crazy week over here in China. There were times that I wish I had a constant camera on us, because it would make a pretty good movie.

Ok, to start off, I am going to talk a little bit about my new apartment. It is a pretty fun LITTLE place. It is small, but nice and cozy, and the air conditioner works faster in smaller apartments. We have been trying to get everything sorted out. We are slowly getting all of the things needed to live. Our washer still floods the kitchen every time we wash clothes, but that will be a pretty simple fix. So, here is a funny story about our apartment. I was taking a shower in the tiny Asian shower, when the wind blew the curtain open. It startled me pretty badly so I dropped the shower head. Then that sprayed me in the face, and I couldn’t see so I slipped and fell. The entire time, water is spraying everywhere in the bathroom. By the time I untangle myself from the curtain and get the water stopped, it was a mess in there. Water was dripping from the ceiling and the walls…. All of my roommates wanted to see what had happened, but they were too scared to open the bathroom door… It was a very interesting morning cleaning all of that up!

Elder Leung, my new companion, is awesome. It is way different from having an American companion, but my language is being forced to get better, and I am also able to help him with his English questions. The language is a little bit of a barrier, but we are finding ways to work through that. He says I cook like an American, so now he always runs into the kitchen to cook lunch before I can get in there and start… I didn’t think I was that bad of a cook!

I didn’t know this, but part of my area includes this little village, so this week we decided to go visit it. It is just a tiny little village on a cliff overlooking the ocean. It is so amazing there. There is also a nice beach that we tried to find people on. There are only the few main roads in this village, then there are all the tiny (3-4 feet wide) paths that go between all of the houses. We could knock on doors there, so I got to try my first taste of knocking on doors and getting rejected that way! YAY! It was so cool, and such an amazing place. I loved it there; I will have to show some pictures next week. We didn’t have any immediate success, but we were able to talk to a 100 year old grandma and a man whose wife was going into labor… It was a very interesting day.

We had our confirmation on Sunday, and that was awesome. I got to stand in the circle. He was so happy and I am so happy to be able to see how much joy this gospel can bring into someone’s life. Since he got baptized, we are having to start all over again. It feels weird to not keep teaching him, but we are out trying to find new people to help now. Finding is frustrating sometimes, but then a miracle happens and it makes it all worth it.

Yesterday, all of my roommates locked me in the little room and tickle tortured me until I would sing them a song…. It was not fun, and my stomach hurts today from laughing so hard. I don’t know how, but somehow all of the mission knows I am ticklish… It may be the death of me.

Well, that is about it for this week, not a whole lot of new stuff, just a lot of adjusting and exploring. Nathan, you look good in your homecoming picture. I am glad you had a good time. She is a cutie, you will have to tell me some stories later 😉 ha-ha I love you all and hope you have a good week. Don’t party too hard without me!

Love, Elder Brown

Leave a Reply

