Mid-Autumn Festival

Hello my amazing and dear family and friends,

I hope everything is starting to calm down a little bit over there. Sounds like it has been a crazy past couple of weeks over at the brown house. Things here in Hong Kong have been… well, very mission like. It was Mid-Autumn festival on Sunday so that was really fun. We went finding at a park, and there were tons of people having picnics and running around with lanterns and Chinese music was playing, and there were tons of glow sticks. It was pretty awesome. It was one of the only times that I have felt like I was in “China”. I also got to eat LOTS of mooncakes. They are pretty good except for the egg yolk in the middle of them. I didn’t get to go to the fireworks on Monday, but I will get over that.

This week, we have been visiting a lot of members at their homes and really getting to know them. My companion has 3 cousins in the ward, so it is pretty easy for him to get to know them, but they have all been so nice and our relationship with them is improving so much! Some of them have such amazing stories and experiences. I am humbled with almost every person I meet here. Maybe it is because I am paying more attention to people’s lives. I have tried to learn something new from each person that I meet. It has been hard, and honestly I haven’t really been able to do it. But the effort has had some very good results. One lady in the ward is divorced and has two little kids (5 and 2 years old) and she is there every Sunday with them. We went to her new house that she just moved into, and she doesn’t even have a bed for herself yet, it is still at her old apartment. The only bed they have is for her kids. It is very humbling, but she is so nice and the ward is helping her so much. I have come to find that when you join this church, you join a heavenly family and you are never alone in life. It is pretty amazing.

I also would like you all to keep a family we are teaching in your prayers. We have seen a lot of miracles with them this week, but we have also seen some setbacks. They are the Chan family. The 13 year old son is a member and he brings his 7 year old sister to church every Sunday. We have been teaching the mom and dad, but the dad has stopped meeting with us and has even started trying to interrupt our lessons, so pray really hard for him. The mom is still having a hard time; she is in a pretty tough dilemma. She only gets one day off a week, and takes Saturdays off so she can take her kids to all of their different activities. So she isn’t able to come to church. She wants to come to church at times, but she can’t really see that it is more important to have Sundays off, so pray for her. Ok, now for the miracles with this family. Last Friday, she called us because her boss decided to give her Sunday off because of midautumn festival, so she was able to come to church! Also, we had an amazing lesson this week, with a member who was in the same situation as her, but she resolved it. She bore her testimony and the spirit was so strong in the room. It was so amazing! Also, her parents live with her, and they haven’t ever really been super nice to us, but this week they talked to us before the lesson and were super nice to us. They are starting to open up, and it feels good to be more welcomed in their home!

We were also able to teach brother Yuen, the person we baptized a couple of weeks ago. He is doing awesome! He is preparing to get the Aaronic priesthood now. He has a calling in the ward and he is loving being able to serve people. He has even started going to the missionary guitar class so he can help them teach lessons after. It is amazing how a member of 1 month sometimes has more faith than a member of 20 years. The lesson with him was awesome, he started bearing his testimony at the end, and tears filled his eyes and he had goose bumps on his arms. It was one of those moments, where all of the hard times really feel worth it!

We also have another new investigator, or actually he is more investigating English. He is really funny, and I hope that we can develop a sincere desire in him to learn more about the gospel. His name is Marco. He calls almost every day, just to talk with us. He also said he is reading the book of Mormon, but can never remember where he read… Haha He is our interesting investigator that we are dealing with.

Our English class is really something to write home about. We have the strangest variety of people that come; we could honestly make a tv show about it. We have Mac, the Christian artist who is like 60 years old and I would call him a Chinese hippie. We have Lai Yi who is this 85 year old woman who is just Hilarious. We have Nori, a Japanese man who doesn’t speak Chinese and barely speaks English, I am not quite sure how we teach him, but he keeps coming back. We also have A-Ming, the fisherman. So this is our interesting English class. It is so funny, and the way they interact with each other is honestly the funniest thing I have ever seen. Mac the other day, came up to me and said “your voice is so… powerful…. it must be a gift from the God, I am just in awe whenever you speak…” then he went home about 30 minutes early. And that is how my Saturday nights go, I just love it!

Last week, we were playing basketball, and I fell and my back felt funny, but I didn’t think anything of it. Then, that night it was really hurting. I took some pain medicine and went to bed. The next day it was really bad too, but I just toughed it out. Then on Monday, it was feeling a lot better, so I went to play soccer with the ward. I was doing great, but then I shot this one goal, and jolts shot up through my back. It hurt so bad (but I did make the goal!) It has been constantly hurting since then. I called Sister Hawks, and she has me on limited activity. Hopefully it will get better soon, so I can go and give my all again. Sister Hawks calls me every day to make sure I am doing ok. She is just like my mom over here in China. If it isn’t better by the end of the week, then I will see the mission doctor. We will just have to see. I am fine though, nothing too serious to worry about!

That is pretty much it for my week, just another week in the life of a missionary. I have been studying a lot about prayer lately and how I can develop my prayer habits and make my prayers more meaningful and sincere. The difference has been amazing! I love you all, and hope you all have an awesome week! LOVE YOU!!!

Love Elder Bubba

Leave a Reply

