Letter from Hong Kong Nov 5, 2012

Hello friends, family, and other ones!
I hope you all had an awesome Halloween  It was awesome to see the pictures of the little Chippendale dancer! My companion and I were laughing so hard at it. I am glad Dad got to be home in time to see him.
Speaking of companions, I got a new one. And a new area. I am now serving in an area called Tai Wai. It is amazing here. I am trying to get used to not being downtown in the big city, but I am loving it here. So now, I am up on the part of Hong Kong that is connected to mainland. I am actually pretty close (compared to where I was). One of my MTC teachers is from this ward, and so I have been able to meet her family and they even skyped her yesterday so she could see that I was really there (is that against the rules?) haha. It is another small ward. Only about 70 members. The young mens president is only 17 years old, and his counselor is a young man who has only been baptized for 3 months! I cannot imagine being a young mens president at 17!
My new companion is named Elder Brennan. He is from Australia. I thought I would have a lot more american companions, but I have only had one so far! He is really awesome, we just laugh 90% of the time. He grew up on a farm, so he kind of reminds me of Carl in a way…. haha it is hard to explain. Our apartment is a new apartment. The mission just started renting it a couple of weeks ago, so it is nice to be in a really good apartment.
I am mad I am going to miss grandma’s birthday party at Chucky Cheese! That was a fun party! haha It will be good just to have everyone together!
I can’t believe you caught a wookie, a meeko, and a cat in your trap. What did you do with the cat? I am glad more people have dogs here than cats…. I am my mother’s son when it comes to cats.
Thank you so much for the package. It came last monday, so It only took about 6 days from when you sent it. (monday HK time). It was perfect. I loved all the pictures. I have found out that when one elder gets a package here, all the missionaries get super excited. I opened the package, and one of the missionaries grabbed the pictures and started going through them. All of a sudden, I hear a bunch of missionaries laughing, then one yelled “elder Brown is getting inappropriate pictures!” I ran over, and it was the one of Kyler taking his diaper off. So now, all of the missionaries that are serving on the island have seen Kyler’s butt! haha
Well, this week has been awesome. I have just been introducing myself to all the ward members and investigators. There are so many amazing people here, and I am glad to be able to serve them. It was weird saying goodbye to my old ward, investigators, and RC’s, but I know I will possibly see them around Hong Kong. I can’t imagine how hard it is going to be when I have to leave Hong Kong altogether! It just reminds me to make the most of the precious time I have here.
Well, that is this week for you. I am loving my mission, loving life, and loving fighting the Lord’s fight here in Hong Kong. I love you all and pray for you. have an amazing week!

Love, Elder Bubba

Leave a Reply

