Letter from Hong Kong 11-17-12

Hello My amazing family and friends!

I can’t believe that it is already thanksgiving time! Because they don’t really celebrate Thanksgiving over here in Hong Kong, all the Christmas decorations and music is all starting to come out! You all know how much I love Christmas time/music/the atmosphere, and over here it starts early! No matter where I am in the world, Christmas just makes me happy! Today, the missionaries are starting choir practice for the concert we will do on christmas eve! But, enough about Christmas, lets talk about here and now!
     I think I will miss going and cutting down the giant Christmas tree this year. Maybe you can get all of Nathan’s friends to come and help you! Turn it into a “young mens” activity! Or, maybe this year will just have to be a slightly shorter tree!
     This week has been pretty good, and we have seen some amazing miracles! Our investigator (M–) has been getting things ready for her baptism on the 2nd! I am so happy for her. Now she can join her kids as members of this church. Next stop, her husband! He has been coming to church with them the past 2 weeks, but he hasn’t wanted to meet with the missionaries yet. We will just have to keep working with him, so they can all go to the temple together as a family and be sealed! The oldest daughter is also starting to think about serving a mission herself when she is able. Now that they have changed the age, she is super excited. This family is awesome, and I am glad I get to play a small part in helping them out!
     I am so excited for Kayli. She is going to be an awesome missionary. The new age rules are changing a lot of things in the mission, like 9 week transfers instead of 6. the number of missionaries in the mission. and lots of other things, but I am so excited to have all these fresh new missionaries that are super excited for the work. We have decided that if a lot of new missionaries come in, then a lot of people are going to have to start training earlier than they normally would… That kind of freaks me out! haha.
   There is this investigator, named J–, who is really awesome and loves this church. His parents wont let him get baptized though. We had an awesome lesson yesterday about the power of fasting and putting your trust in God. Now, I am not allowed to ask family members at home to join in special fasting, so this is not asking. We decided that on sunday we will fast for his parents to have a softening of hearts. (wink wink) haha I feel so strongly that as J–, and us missionaries fast, his parents will eventually have a softening of their hearts.
     This week, I have been studying a lot of conference talks. A lot of them talk about blessings people receive when they live the gospel. I am now going to paraphrase one of my favorite people ever, Jeffery R. Holland:
God has promised the blessings of heaven for those faithful people. They may come immediately, they may come in a couple of years, or they may come once we are in heaven, but the blessings of God will come. 
How lucky we are to be a part of God’s true gospel and partake of his blessings he is so willing to give to his faithful saints. I am lucky I have the knowledge and desire to always remain worthy of these special gifts from God!
     Well, that is it for this week. I hope you all have an amazing thanksgiving and enjoy a nice pumpkin pie for me! Have an awesome black friday (nobody die please) and have an amazing week! I love you all so much!
Love, Elder Bubba
Leave a Reply

