We are having a heat wave!!!!!

{Sent Jan 27, 2013}

Hello my friends and very supportive family!

 

How is everything going over in bi-polar Utah? Hopefully you are all staying safe with the weird weather going on. There have been LOTS of changes over here in Hong Kong this past week. First, I am moved back onto the island. So I am now in the big city again. When you look at all the “typical” pictures of Hong Kong, and you see the big buildings (including the one that looks like it is made up of lots of triangles) that is my new area! It is fun to be back in the city. There is a certain energy that goes on around here. The area is called West Point. This area has its challenges, like every other area, and it has a lot of work to do, but we are going to do our best. I am also “step training” a missionary. I am only his second companion, he has been out about 3 months. He is from Hong Kong, and speaks very little english. When I had my last native companion, we would speak mostly english, but now we speak almost always in cantonese, I kind of like it more! Sometimes he will try to say something in english and I just don’t understand, so he tries again. I still don’t understand. So then he says it in chinese, I translate, he repeats. So pretty much we say certain sentences about 4-5 times each. It is pretty fun! His name is Elder Au. It is kind of funny, because his family is from the same area where I was just serving, so he keeps asking me about all his friends and family. He reminds me a lot of Murphy Nadauld. My apartment has 2 Hong Kong people and two springville people. The other springville person agrees with me that he acts and kind of looks like an asian Murphy. Its pretty fun.

This week has just been a lot of time adjusting to the changes. It has been fun to walk the streets of the city and talk to the people (even though they don’t really like talking to me). It is different how the mood of people change in only moving such a short distance. It is interesting, and we will have to see how it goes!

 

It is weird being senior companion now. There were times before where if I didn’t really know what to say, I could just be silent and the senior companion would kind of take over. There have been a couple times these past few days that I go quiet, then realize I have to be the one to speak. We are both learning and laughing together. I have laughed more these past couple of days than I have in a long time. It reminds me of mom’s dream she had last week.

 

This week, I have been reading from the bible. It is interesting how much I really don’t know. It seems like the more I study the bible and cantonese, the more I realize that I don’t really know that much! haha The Bible is just like Cantonese, full of secrets, complicated, and never master-able! haha But I just keep working on it and doing the best I can.

 

Well, I don’t really have any investigators right now to have you pray for…. So just pray for the area and that it will pick up here! haha President Hawks made a “mission presidents” promise to all of us yesterday at zone conference, it involves us doing certain things, then in turn he promises we will have success in finding this week. I am grabbing that promise and running as fast as I can with it. We will need all the prayers and support, but it isn’t impossible. It is interesting, when the hard times come, that is when you really understand the Lord and how much you really can rely on him.

 

Well, I hope you all have a great week and really enjoy the “warmer weather”. I love you all and think of you all the time. You are truly in my prayers. I love you!!!!

 

Elder Bubba Brown

Leave a Reply

