The Best Days…

Hello!

This week has been so incredibly good. Very busy, kind of stressful, but oh so good. I love working with President Hawks. Him and I have always been pretty close, so it is nice being able to work with him. He is a great man. So I will start with the typhoon from last week. We had the typhoon warning come through Hong Kong last week. It was going to be a big one, so we were all put on house arrest and weren’t allowed to leave. Through the night the wind was blowing pretty hard, and there was quite a bit of rain. Luckily Hong Kong has a really good draining system, and so there wasn’t really any flooding. By the time morning came, the big signal was still hoisted, so we couldn’t leave, but by then it wasn’t really hard rain and wind, so President said we could run across the street to our office, so we could keep working. So nothing really too exciting happened. There was just lots of broken tree branches, and a couple of uprooted trees.

This week, I have been able to work with so many people from mainland china. First, I had a lady from Chengdu call me. She is from the Chengdu second branch. She said her friend was on her way to Hong Kong, and she wanted to be baptised. Because of rules with mainland and baptisms, we weren’t authorized to baptise her, but we were able to teach her some of the lessons, and give her a book of Mormon. The whole time I was just thinking to myself, "I wonder if mom and Jake saw this lady while they were in Chengdu?" or "I wonder is she know Juno" It was really fun.

Then, the next day we had some members come down from Guangdong, which is another part of mainland. They also brought one of their non member friends down. Once again, we weren’t allowed to baptise her because of the rules, but we were able to teach her. And because of the part of china she is from, her mother language is cantonese, which means I got to do the actual teaching. It was pretty cool. I have attatched a picture of her and her member friends. They are so powerful. I haven’t had members bear that powerful of a testimony in a long time. When mainland does open, the field will be harvested by the thousands.

This week I also went to this awesome boy band concert… Wait what? yeah, you heard me right. There is this band called beyond 5 (you can look them up) and they came to Hong Kong. 4 of the 5 members are members of the church, so we got free tickets, and we went and tracted people at the concert. It was pretty weird to be at a concert on a mission, but we got quite a bit done. It was also weird when members of the quorum of the 70 showed up for the concert. Haha They actually had a good message behind the concert. They talked about how all of their music has good messages and how they hope their music can be used for good. It was pretty good, and I hope some success comes from it. My companion and I also had the job of making sure missionaries were behaving themselves and not going crazy. They did pretty good job.

Let me tell you a little story about a boy named M–. About two months ago, a girl named L– got baptised. Then one day some missionaries bring this boy to church, turns out, it is L–‘s little brother. We have been teaching him, and he is about as golden as the angel Moroni. His family is originally from mainland China, so he is very receptive to the church. When we taught him the word of wisdom, his response: "It shouldn’t be a problem, I mean, God did give us this commandment." And this is all coming from a 15 year old. He is awesome.

Well, my week has been good. Sorry I don’t have a lot of time to write, but this will have to do. Love you all, have an amazing week. LOVES

Elder Brown

Leave a Reply

