Eye Towards the Temple

Hello my beautiful friends and family,

It has been such an amazing week here in Hong Kong. I know I say that every week, and you are probably starting to think that I am lying, but I am loving Hong Kong, and I am able to see so many amazing things every single day. It is weird how a place, a people, a language, a culture, and everything about Hong Kong can just grab my heart and become so entwined into my life. It is a pretty amazing feeling.

This week I had an amazing experience. One of our investigators, M–, was having his baptismal interview, and I was just thinking about how we could help the rest of his family accept the gospel. His sister was already baptised a few months ago, and now he is getting baptised this coming Sunday, how could we help the rest of his family. As I was thinking this, I looked out the window of the church, and it is the one that points right towards the temple. It helped me realize how amazing the temple is and how much family means in God’s eternal plan. I immediately took a picture, hope you enjoy.

This last week we also had a tag-along friend with us. His name is Elder Saroha. He is from India. He had VISA problems, so he wasn’t able to go to the MTC, and he wasn’t able to go to the temple, so he came to Hong Kong to go through the temple, and we got to be his companions for a couple of days. He was a very interesting fellow, and I learned a lot from him. He hasn’t been immersed into very many cultures, so coming to China was a bit of a shock for him and he wasn’t very prepared. Lets just say he was very racist towards Chinese people. It was pretty stressful at the time, but looking back now we have had many, many laughs.

Driving this week has been pretty fun. I am pretty used to driving on the other side, traffic, crazy drivers, and stuff like that. My only problem is that I have forgotten how to park. We went to pick some missionaries at the Macau ferry, and I had to do a 90 point turn just to get the car parked. Elder Jackson was just laughing at me the entire time, it was not fun!

We are working with this other family also right now. Their last name is K–. The dad and daughter were baptised before, and now we are helping the 11 year old son and the mom. They are such an amazing family and they cook us dinner every single Thursday. Sister K– is from Thailand, so she makes amazing food. W.L., the son, is only 11 years old, so it is hard to teach him lessons, but we have been using the "Book of Mormon Stories" picture book that has really simple wording in it, and he is loving it. It has also been fun for me to go back to thinking like a child and teaching him in a way that he will understand. Children are so great.

I had an awesome time at the temple this morning and had such a great experience. The thing that really stood out to me is how much Heavenly Father loves us. Did you know that? He loves you and wants you to be happy. HE wants YOU to be happy. And he cares about you personally. He cares.

Sincerely,

Elder Brown

One thought on “Eye Towards the Temple

Leave a Reply

