Christmas time is here!

My dearest friends and family!

聖誕快樂!This is such an amazing time of the year. Thanks for all the birthday wishes, I am so grateful for all the support I get. The ward I serve in took such great care of me on my birthday. The night before, we had the K– take us to a Japanese restaurant (pictures included). They are one of my favorite families in the entire world. The father is in the mission presidency, and the wife is the ward relief society president. Our recent convert A– also came with us. On Monday we also made the birthday cake from the package and had a little celebration with all the missionaries that came into the mission office. The day of my actual birthday, I got a nice phone call from President and Sister Hawks, then that night, a member bought a big mango cake for us to share as an apartment. You all know how much I love mango, so it was amazing.

On Friday, we had a small group of people from mainland come down to go through the temple. One lady brought her non member husband. She said, "I have tried everything, but he is too stubborn to accept the gospel. I am going to the temple, you try." She was right, he was a very stubborn man. We couldn’t get him to do anything. The most we were able to get was for him to listen to us say a prayer (this was after talking at him for an hour). The worst part was his language. He could understand mandarin or cantonese, but when he spoke, he used part mandarin, part cantonese, and two other dialects. It was so hard to understand him. Finally, we just gave him a liahona, and had him sit on the sofa while waiting for his wife… Stubborn old men.

Yesterday at church, the ward was so amazing to us. They kept bringing us Christmas presents, and giving us food. I love this ward so much. They are so amazingly nice to us missionaries. One member even bought us a whole ham!

It’s been pretty cold outside recently, but we have been bundling up to stay nice and warm. The weather here is so weird, but at least it isn’t snowing!

I hope you all have an amazing Christmas. I look forward to calling my family. Love you all lots!

Love, Elder Brown

Leave a Reply

