We found him… again!

Oh the joys of trying to find an 86 year old man in the middle of a giant city. So a ward member went to Uncle F–‘s house to check on him last week, and there was a note on his door saying he was rushed to the hospital. He called and told us, so we went to the hospital that was stated on the note. After travelling for forever, we finally made it to the hospital, just to find out that they have no record of him there. AHHHH So we went back and reported to the ward, and soon we had the whole ward council calling every hospital in Hong Kong. This seems like an easy task, but for a city of 7 million people, there are LOTS of hospitals. Finally I felt an impression to call the first hospital that he went to 6 months ago (yes, the same one that I passed out in). They said there was a name that matched his, but because I didn’t have more information about him, they couldn’t confirm anything over the phone. So we rushed over to that hospital, and there he was! His memory is almost completely shot, and he keeps trying to leave the hospital, so they have him strapped into his bed. He didn’t remember why he was in the hospital, and they wouldn’t tell us the reason, but I feel much better about him being in the hospital than alone in his house.

Yesterday we had a very scary experience. My companion was driving in Hong Kong for the first time. We had just gotten off the free way and were driving toward one of the chapel, when everyone started hitting the brakes. The big double decker bus in front of us slid to the left, but was still partly in our lane. I knew we weren’t going to stop in time, so I just threw my hands up to cover my face, and waited to wreck. Luckily my companion was quick and jerked the wheel to the right. Between my fingers, I saw the rearview mirror on my side explode, and there was a loud sound. Shattered glass sprayed my window, and I thought I was dead. Luckily, the mirror was the only thing that got hit on our car. My heart was pounding for the longest time. Everyone is fine, nobody was injured. I don’t even think the bus knew that we hit it.

I love the ward I am serving right now. We just have such a great connection. They trust my companionship so much, and it makes us feel so good. They treat us so unbelievably well, and love us like family. I think that is one of the things I am most grateful for. Other than helping people come unto Christ, I have also been able to forge amazing relationships that will influence the rest of my life. I am so grateful I am here on this mission. It is unbelievably hard, but more worth it than anything I can describe. I have grown so much, learned so much, and have strengthened my testimony. It is all true, there is no doubt in my mind. God loves us.

Elder Brown

Leave a Reply

